Friday, June 26, 2009

New Cell Phone Law for Oregon

Oregon becomes 6th state to outlaw cell phone use while driving.

The amended bill (House Bill 2377) was approved on June 24, and Governor Kulongowski has said he will sign, will go into effect January 1, 2010 and carry a $90 fine.

While excluding public safety and emergency personnel, the new law joins Oregon with California, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, Washington, the District of Columbia and the Virgin Islands that make it illegal to drive while using a handheld cell phone.

Oregon’s new law will prohibit all use of a cell phone by drivers under 18, while allowing hands-free devices for drivers over 18.

Attention Oregon Employers: Do you have employees that drive for work? Do you know if they are on their phones while on the road for you? For more information on the dangers of texting and driving, plan on attending ESC's 1-day Traffic Safety Conference in Portland Oregon. It is free to attend - Register Today!


  1. Can you still use your phone for calling or texting when sitting at a stop light?

  2. By definition: a vehicle on the roadway, whether physically moving or not, IE: while paused at a traffic signal, is considered to be "under way" and therefore subject to this regulation.

  3. I hope that the next step to making driving without a hands free headset a primary offense comes sooner than later. I still see everyone driving with phone to ear with seemingly no consideration of the reason the hands free law was even written!!

  4. I think if they increased the fine it would deter more people from doing such things.


Thank you for taking the time to provide your comment on this topic. We welcome comments on your experiences in safety & health, as well as additional safety ideas and resources. Please remember to keep it clean and be respectful of others. We reserve the right not to include comments that do not pertain to the posting.