Friday, June 1, 2012

Congratulations to Anne Soiza

Congratulations to Anne Soiza, Asst. Director for Washington Division of Occupational Safety & Health (DOSH) as she was recently appointed by OSHA  to the National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health.

Established under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, NACOSH has advised the secretaries of labor and health and human services for nearly 40 years on worker safety issues. The committee meets at least twice a year and members are appointed for two-year terms. The other newly appointed members are: Mark Carleson, Safety Manager for Orange County in Santa Ana, Calif and Jacqueline Agnew, a professor at the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health in Baltimore, Md., has been appointed as the committee's new health representative.  

They join the following members who were-appointed for additional terms:   Safety Representative Peter Dooley of LaborSafe in Dexter, Mich.; Management Representative Joseph Van Houten, Senior Director of Worldwide Environmental Health and Safety for Johnson & Johnson in New Brunswick, N.J.; and Labor Representatives William Borwegen, Director of Occupational Health and Safety for the Service Employees International Union, and Margaret Seminario, Director of Safety and Health for the AFL-CIO, both in the District of Columbia. Linda Rae Murray, the Chief Medical Officer of the Cook County Department of Health in Chicago, Ill., has been re-appointed as a Public Member and as the new Chair for the committee.

Contributed by Tom Odegaard, Executive Director, Evergreen Safety Council

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comment on this topic. We welcome comments on your experiences in safety & health, as well as additional safety ideas and resources. Please remember to keep it clean and be respectful of others. We reserve the right not to include comments that do not pertain to the posting.